(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 01 Dec 2020, 23:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Chromebook (How to use and put Puppy on a Chromebook)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 06:26    Post subject:  

Did you do the kernel change using Quickpet->Info->Change kernel?
All entries, in the change kernel program, are the stuff from the new kernel.

The info statements, are a little confusing, in that change kernel program.
Only input stuff from the new kernel.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 06:37    Post subject:  

Mrchromebox says their Full ROM Firmware requires the use of a 64bit operating system only.

But, I am running a 32bit Puppy right now.
I am using the UEFI boot loader that Frugalpup Installer will install.
So, seems this boot loader will boot a 32bit or 64bit Puppy version.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1422
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 10:37    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Did you do the kernel change using Quickpet->Info->Change kernel?
All entries, in the change kernel program, are the stuff from the new kernel.


No, bigpup, I just tried unpacked kernel, repacked the xxx.initrd file to gz, changed names to vmlinuz and initrd.gz and substituted in on a working frugal Bionicpup64 (on my main laptop). Forgot to substitute a new zdrv, which was one obvious major problem. Rolling Eyes

bigpup wrote:
But, I am running a 32bit Puppy right now.
I am using the UEFI boot loader that Frugalpup Installer will install.
So, seems this boot loader will boot a 32bit or 64bit Puppy version.


Interesting!

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
C720 Chromebk Bionicpup64
My homemade foam boat
www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1422
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 13:23    Post subject:  

Sure enough, Bionicpup32 when put on a stick using full Frugalpup 20, and choosing BOTH UEFI and grub, does load right up on the Acer C720!

But if you choose UEFI only in Frugalpup, it doesn't work.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
C720 Chromebk Bionicpup64
My homemade foam boat
www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 15:21    Post subject:  

You know, you are right.
I do seem to have both boot loaders installed by Frugalpup. I thought I only installed the UEFI one. Embarassed
I am testing with too many drives.
Forgetting what I have actually put on each one. Embarassed Embarassed Laughing Laughing Shocked

These Chromebooks are in their own computer world. Rolling Eyes
What works or does not work, is all over the place.
Frugalpup Installer seems to provide some needed boot loader options.

Nothing seems to be 100% for all Chromebooks.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 15:38    Post subject:  

If you use the change kernel in Quickpet.

As long as you put the correct type of file, from the new kernel package, into the correct entry slots.
The names will get auto changed, to the correct names, used by the Bionicpup frugal install.
They will replace the original files with the new kernel ones.

Unpack the kernel .tar.gz package.
drag and drop the correct files into change kernel program window.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1422
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 18:10    Post subject:  

I did that today Bigpup with the 5.5.13 kernel and Bionicpup64, and then got it on a bootable stick, and ran it on both the C720 and R11.

I noticed that kernel modules is tiny in comparison with the original Bionicpup64 version. I lost wifi and touchpad function on the R11. (needs pinctrl_cherryview, compiled in at kernel time for a functioning touchpad, as usual). That kernel modules piece looks to be pretty slim.

I think rockedges much larger 5.3.18 kernel modules package looks like a better possibliity. Might try that a little later (my eyes are bleary from trading OS'es around all day on about 5 thumbdrives) Shocked Shocked

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
C720 Chromebk Bionicpup64
My homemade foam boat
www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 862
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 18:20    Post subject:  

@vtpup - I've just released a 5.4.27 kernel which has pinctrl_cherryview=y. Check out the ubuntu deriv version:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1055653#1055653. Also needs fdrv shown there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1422
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 18:33    Post subject:  

Great, thanks ozsouth! Will do shortly.

***********************************

In other news, the rockedge 5.3.18 kernel placed into Bionicpup frugal would not boot on my main laptop -- error messages saying it couldn't read partitions. So I couldn't make a stick. Maybe it needed a different fdrv, as well? I only did the change kernels GUI script method with the two tarred files into the existing frugal directory and rebooted.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
C720 Chromebk Bionicpup64
My homemade foam boat
www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1422
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 19:19    Post subject:  

ozsouth wrote:
@vtpup - I've just released a 5.4.27 kernel which has pinctrl_cherryview=y. Check out the ubuntu deriv version:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1055653#1055653. Also needs fdrv shown there.


No joy...... kernel panicked:

"Wrong EFI Loader signature........

(don't think I have EFI on this lappy)

There was no fdrv to start, I renamed yours per below:

Screenshots of directory and Grub stanza:
ozsouth2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   14.01 KB
 Viewed   197 Time(s)

ozsouth2.jpg

ozsouth1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.08 KB
 Viewed   198 Time(s)

ozsouth1.jpg


_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
C720 Chromebk Bionicpup64
My homemade foam boat
www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1422
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 20:09    Post subject:  

Okay, took out the microcode bit in Grub and it booted up..... fingers crossed.....

************************************************

Later:

Looks promising, ozsouth....made a USB stick, booted right up in the R11. Touchpad works, wifi works, even touch screen works, nice!

Audio doesn't work, but..... there are now what look like a hundred sliders and switches in retrovol. It looks like the card type is recognized.

I also remember that in GalliumOS dev notes online there is somewhere a specific ALSA config for these Braswell CYAN Chromebooks. I'm going to look for that....

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
C720 Chromebk Bionicpup64
My homemade foam boat
www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1422
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 23:41    Post subject:  

I think I need pulseaudio. Specifically I need it to respond to a configuration file: /etc/pulse/default.pa taken from GalliumOS.

Even more specifically I need it to respond to these lines in that file:

Code:
set-default-sink   alsa_output.platform-cht-bsw-max98090.HiFi__hw_chtmax98090__sink
set-sink-port      alsa_output.platform-cht-bsw-max98090.HiFi__hw_chtmax98090__sink [Out] Speakers
set-default-source alsa_input.platform-cht-bsw-max98090.HiFi__hw_chtmax98090__source


Any suggestions?

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
C720 Chromebk Bionicpup64
My homemade foam boat
www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 862
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Fri 17 Apr 2020, 00:08    Post subject:  

You might try installing pavucontrol & its 2 deps from the ppm. No guarantees tho'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1422
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Fri 17 Apr 2020, 18:03    Post subject:  

Thanks ozsouth. I tried it, but that still requires a running pulseaudio server to interact with and I don't have pulseaudio.

I've found notes on the forum about how pulseaudio server is a problem to run with puppy(s) -- not a lot of encouragement and no how-to's, so far.

I'm wondering if it's really necessary.... Maybe alsa just needs to assign properly to the cards.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
C720 Chromebk Bionicpup64
My homemade foam boat
www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1422
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 20 Apr 2020, 18:47    Post subject:  

Latest on the Acer C720-2844:

Bionicpup64: Since the only problem here was the microphone, I found a very small USB microphone as a temp fix. The mic is the type used on Raspberry Pi's -- basically just a little button that plugs into the port.

Latest on the Acer R11 sound issue:

GalliumOS does provide sound on this Chromebook but Bionicpup64 does not, so far.

Ozsouth's 5.4.27 -64 kernel seems to be a better match for this computer than the stock BP64 kernel. It recognizes the sound card (chtmax98090).

I compared GalliumOS /proc/asound/ contents with those of the above modified BPup64 and they were nearly identical, other than BPup64 assigning audio cards as cards 0 and 1, while GaOS assigns them as 1 and 2. I don't know if that makes any difference, but I doubt it.

I also borrowed GaOS /usr/share/alsa/ucm contents and applied them to BP64.

But no sound yet. If I try to play a sound file (the Puppy bark) and enter dmesg, I get the following last line:

Code:
intel_sst_acpi 808622A8:00: fw returned err -16
sst-mfld-platform sst-mfld-platform: ASoC: can't open interface ssp2-port: -16
 SSP2-Codec: ASoC: BE open failed -16
 Audio Port: ASoC: failed to start some BEs -16

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
C720 Chromebk Bionicpup64
My homemade foam boat
www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1776s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0882s) ][ GZIP on ]