(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 19 Oct 2020, 22:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
JWM keyboard shortcuts damaged spontaneously [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
Amaponian


Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 63
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2020, 00:38    Post subject:  JWM keyboard shortcuts damaged spontaneously [SOLVED]  

All keyboard shortcuts are damaged.
The key "Print Screen" and any other built-in shortcut doesn't' work.

This is what I get when I click on the "JWM Hotkey" button:

Configuration file doesn't exist! Aborting...

How can I fix this?
How can I recover my shortcuts?

***EDITED***

What specific Puppy version are you running?
—>bionicpup64 8.0

Frugal or full?
—>Full.


I've always used frugal. Now I tested a Full install and unexpectedly got rid of some hangings due, may be, to the browser requiring more memory than what I have (2GB).

But I'd never had the problem of the kb-shortcuts disappearing that way, provided that I didn't touch the filesystem in any way. I think it's a bug. I didn't do anything to damage that.

The only thing I remember when this happened is that I had three instances of the shorcuts window. Then, suddenly, one of them failed and I got the error pup up in red.

Thanks for reading and/or helping..
Captura de pantalla.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Captura de pantalla.jpg 
Filesize  96.93 KB 
Downloaded  151 Time(s) 

Last edited by Amaponian on Sat 07 Mar 2020, 22:46; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2020, 00:59    Post subject:  

What specific Puppy version are you running?
How is it installed?
Frugal or full?
If frugal. Have you made a save and rebooted using the save?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 2084
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2020, 01:28    Post subject: Re: JWM keyboard shortcuts damaged spontaneously  

Amaponian wrote:
This is what I get when I click on the "JWM Hotkey" button:

Configuration file doesn't exist! Aborting...
You get this message when JWMDesk (or more precisely the script /usr/local/jwmdesk/keyboard) cannot find the file "$HOME/.jwm/jwmrc-personal". Assuming that you are logged in as root this translates into file /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal.
Check if this file exists. There might exist a backup named /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amaponian


Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 63
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2020, 08:03    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
What specific Puppy version are you running?
How is it installed?
Frugal or full?
If frugal. Have you made a save and rebooted using the save?


What specific Puppy version are you running?
—>bionicpup64 8.0

Frugal or full?
—>Full.


I've always used frugal. Now I tested a Full install and unexpectedly got rid of some hangings due, may be, to the browser requiring more memory than what I have (2GB).

But I'd never had the problem of the kb-shortcuts disappearing that way, provided that I didn't touch the filesystem in any way. I think it's a bug. I didn't do anything to damage that.

Thanks for reading and/or helping..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Amaponian


Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 63
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2020, 08:11    Post subject: Re: JWM keyboard shortcuts damaged spontaneously  

MochiMoppel wrote:
Amaponian wrote:
This is what I get when I click on the "JWM Hotkey" button:

Configuration file doesn't exist! Aborting...
You get this message when JWMDesk (or more precisely the script /usr/local/jwmdesk/keyboard) cannot find the file "$HOME/.jwm/jwmrc-personal". Assuming that you are logged in as root this translates into file /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal.
Check if this file exists. There might exist a backup named /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal2.


Thank you.
Your tip fixed my problem.
I recovered my shortcuts.

The bug remains.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 2190
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2020, 11:44    Post subject:  

Might be the hdd file system. Windows fatxx systems can frag the file. Might be better to use ext3 or ext4.

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913 "Some people need to reimagine their thinking."
"Zuckerberg: a large city inhabited by mentally challenged people."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2020, 12:34    Post subject:  

You may want to go back to using frugal install of Bionicpup64 8.0

Full install is still offered, but it has been years since anyone has tried to keep it updated to how Puppy works.
All the tweaking, bug fixing, operation, etc.... has been all about frugal installs.
Plus, some features only work in frugal installs.

Problems with browsers is all about the browser.
They are constantly working on those things.
2GB of memory should be OK, more than enough.

Example:
Pale Moon browser, just got an update, to fix a problem with YouTube web site.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2020, 12:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
I had three instances of the shorcuts window. Then, suddenly, one of them failed and I got the error pup up in red.

Having a program started three times is probably your problem.
Why have it running that way?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Amaponian


Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 63
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Sat 07 Mar 2020, 22:45    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
I had three instances of the shorcuts window. Then, suddenly, one of them failed and I got the error pup up in red.

Having a program started three times is probably your problem.
Why have it running that way?


Why have it running that way?
Just a problem with my mouse that repeats my clicks.

But now I think I'm able to reproduce the system error
which still seems to be sort of a bug.
The error occurs when I try to assign,
to any combination of keys,
this action:

exec:defaultbrowser https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1UWFlLt9tm2nshbZ_OqMVG_jjEu3ydFa7StM7sSFAsII/edit#gid=198740990

The error occurs every time I try that.
I got the url shortened and then It worked just fine.

Could that error be a bug?

Thanks for your patience.

P.S. I took your word about the convenience of frugal install over full install. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2854s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0866s) ][ GZIP on ]