(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 22 Oct 2020, 16:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to specify which DNS servers your browser will use
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 664

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 09:55    Post subject:  

creating a /etc/resolv.conf.head file defeated the easytether app on my cell/computer setting its choice of dns nameserver over mine. Thanks.

And yes you can do a script to remove and replace, but this is slicker solution.

XP gives option to set an unchangable DNS nameserver, glad Puppy does too without reinventing the wheel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 10:42    Post subject:  

I wonder if there is a way to implement this at the router-level, so that a user cannot IP-spoof?

Kids have discovered IP-spoofing and are completely bypassing content filters.

This not only exposes them to the septic waste of venal slime on the Internet, it harms performance by opening floodgates to all manner of spam and code garbage, and exposes them to illegal sites which could trigger additional license-enforcement hassles.

WDYT?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MichaelHabib

Joined: 08 May 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 08 May 2020, 23:31    Post subject: Create /etc/resolv.conf.head , add new entries & re-connect  

As this is the top answer found on google, I wanted to confirm few things for anyone looking for an answer (as of 2020) . The steps are :

- Create then add your DNS entries in /etc/resolv.conf.head or /etc/resolv.conf.tail (depending on where you want your DNS records to show)
- Re-connect to the network .
- NO PC or Browser restart are needed, just a network connection restart .

GL & TY for making this awesome OS Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0967s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0184s) ][ GZIP on ]