Resuming partial downloads

Miscellaneous tools
B.K. Johnson

Resuming partial downloads

#1 Post by B.K. Johnson »

I'm no expert on wget, but I gather from the man pages that using it with -c will enable continuation of a partial download.

Today I came across this article How to Use Zsync to Transfer Part of a File in Linux which seems to make things easier. Zsync is in PPM. I have installed it but I haven't tried to download with it yet. Others contemplating a large download may want to try and report.
[color=blue]B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM[/color]

nic007

#2 Post by nic007 »

It depends whether the server you are downloading from allows for resumes. So even if you configure your downloader to always resume downloads it will still depend upon the download site.

bigpup

#3 Post by bigpup »

The browsers I use seem to control downloading.
The process is built into the browser.

Example:
Pale Moon browser.
Has options for where to install a download.
Shows a download process indicator.
Tells you when the download completes.
I have seen it stop a download and give message why and ask if you want to resume download.

Pale Moon has a add-on that will provide more info and options for downloading stuff.
https://addons.palemoon.org/addon/downloadstatusbar-pm/
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

B.K. Johnson

#4 Post by B.K. Johnson »

I think that bigpup is correct, that the download is controlled by the browser.