How to lose the "no sandbox" warning on Brave portable?

Browsers, email, chat, etc.
Gnimmelf

How to lose the "no sandbox" warning on Brave portable?

#1 Post by Gnimmelf »

I managed to get the brave portable posted by Mike Walsh Sat 04 Jan 2020, 10:35 to run on bionicpup64

how do i get rid of the "--no-sandbox" warning? or how do i get it to run with sandbox? (do i need this?) please eksplain in detail! Im a newbie Smile

kindly Gnimm

Gnimmelf

"no sandbox" on Brave portable

#2 Post by Gnimmelf »

Nobody have a take on this?

rockedge

#3 Post by rockedge »

Hello!

I also have Brave running on Bionic64 on a machine in the garage..I'll go look and see what I did to solve this!

mikeslr

#4 Post by mikeslr »

Hi Gnimmelf,

Didn't the routine I posted here work? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 75#1046975. Ah, I see you posted for detailed instructions but no one responded.

Here's how: When you unpack Brave (I think) you'll have a folder named "Brave-Portable". At any rate within the "initial?" unpacked folder will be two scripts --launch and update pepperflash-- and another folder with the name "brave". Within that "brave" folder is the bash-script named "brave-pup". It is actually the wrapper which initializes Brave. Open it in geany/text-editor and you'll see that its last line reads:

run-as-spot "$HERE/brave" --user-data-dir=$HERE/PROFILE --ppapi-flash-path=$HERE/PepperFlash/libpepflashplayer.so --disable-infobars --no-sandbox "$@" || true

After Brave is started the first time (and per Mike Walsh) creates your initial profile, you can open "brave-pup" again in your text-editor, edit the last line to delete --no-sandbox ; save the changes.

At least that's how I remember doing it.