Puppy 2.13 Live CD...

Discuss anything specific to using Puppy on a multi-session disk
chrish670

Puppy 2.13 Live CD...

#1 Post by chrish670 »

I'm a Windows XP Pro user, who decided to try out linux. So I downloaded Puppy.

First let me say I'm new to the whole concept of Linux. And I've had a few problems getting up to speed, but saving my first ever session (time spent configuring puppy)proved to be a disaster for my live CD.

I selected the "save to CD" option prior to exiting, in order to reboot, and for some reason it wrote a file folder to the CD. However, on reboot, with the same disc in the CD drive - Puppy fails to load - and I end up on my windows XP desktop.

So I erased the CDRW and burned a new copy of Puppy. Went through the whole config process again... including configuring CD Burner and DVD, but had the same result as the first. The CD won't boot. Whats up with this??

My primary CD is an Hp 9300 CD_Rw drive. My Dvd Ram is a Sony Dru820a

I'm almost afraid to try saving a session to the harddrive, because I don't wish to lose my known good configuration of windows xp. (is using NTFS partitions)

:shock: What am I doing wrong??

jonyo

#2 Post by jonyo »

Going way to fast. :lol:

I do the same thing & stuff happens..

Flash
Official Dog Handler

#3 Post by Flash »

What you describe is not uncommon for people trying multisession from a CD. It works for some people and not for others. No one seems to know for sure why. My guess is, your CD drive doesn't support multisession. It's probably not much consolation, but multisession seems to work very reliably from a DVD.
[url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69321][color=blue]Puppy Help 101 - an interactive tutorial for Lupu 5.25[/color][/url]

chrish670

#4 Post by chrish670 »