Google Earth Linux tries to start then errors out

Booting, installing, newbie
retry3

Google Earth Linux tries to start then errors out

#1 Post by retry3 »

After the dialog box says it is installed and I click the Start button, the Google Earth welcome page, or at least a part of it, briefly flashes once or twice and then an Error message comes up.

The same thing happens when I try starting using the console even tho I don't know what I am doing with a console. I couldn't figure out the right thing to do in the MUT

The message says they are sorry but a bug caused it to crash which should not happen normally. It is the same message others have reported. The help suggested seems to involve the video card and/or memory. I don't think this is my problem because I am running Windoze also (forced to because of things like this) and installed and can run GoogleEarth o.k. in Windoze.

Running Puppy 3.01CD-AMD3800-1GBshared-512MB Pup save 400MB free.

I am a slow forever newbie and would appreciate the most basic simple advice possible.

Thanks - retry3
Pizzasgood

#2 Post by Pizzasgood »

Did you install OpenGL and drivers for you graphics card? Puppy doesn't have OpenGL by default, so most 3d things won't work until you install it (there's a package called xorg_OPENGL in the PETget package manager). You might also want the xorg_DRI_MODULES package, and you may need to add lines to load dri and glx in the "Module" section of /etc/X11/xorg.conf (there will be other entries in that section, so just use one as a template).

Then you'll need to restart X. Speaking of X, for 3d programs you'll probably want to use Xorg rather than Xvesa. I don't know if Xvesa can handle OpenGL, but it definitely doesn't let you take advantage of your graphics card.

This is just a brief overview. More detail can be found by searching the forum.
[size=75]Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib[/size]