Page 1 of 1

I'm not able to make comments in my internet Local news pape

Posted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 23:33
by jbander
My digital copy of my local newspaper has the ability to interact in a comment area for each article. I'm unable to in Sea monkey, the hypertext "comment" word to left click on to comment with, doesn't even show. Any thought to resolve this would be appreciated

Posted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 23:53
by Semme
Grab this and cut back your ua string by losing the SeaMonkey bit:

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30
If it works, you can accomplish the same without the extension:

Code: Select all

//
// user.js: Personal prefs which mozilla shouldn't overwrite.
//

// Override the default user-agent string:
user_pref("general.useragent.override", "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0");

Posted: Sun 02 Nov 2014, 04:25
by jbander
Semme wrote:Grab this and cut back your ua string by losing the SeaMonkey bit:

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30
If it works, you can accomplish the same without the extension:

Code: Select all

//
// user.js: Personal prefs which mozilla shouldn't overwrite.
//

// Override the default user-agent string:
user_pref("general.useragent.override", "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0");
I'm New to puppy , I don't understand your answer. Whats a UA string

Posted: Sun 02 Nov 2014, 04:48
by Makoto
Are you using the NoScript extension with Seamonkey? It blocks most, if not all, scripts by default, and some elements on a page (like the buttons above the editor here on this forum) may not appear as a result.

If you are using NoScript, try the steps I mention in this post, and see if it works (although, in some cases, you may need to whitelist more than the main server).

Posted: Sun 02 Nov 2014, 06:47
by Makoto
I don't know, Semme - I've had the impression that modifying the UserAgent string isn't really necessary most of the time, unless you're running into sites that are absolutely convinced you should be running a different (that shall remain nameless) browser, trying to convince sites you're running from a different browser/platform for different or better options, or want to make a site believe you're on a mobile browser when you're not (or vice versa). I could be wrong, though.

(Edited - sorry, Semme, I'll admit to skimming the post and jumping to the conclusion you wanted him to adjust the UA manually, by default.)

Posted: Sun 02 Nov 2014, 08:50
by Semme
Jbander, if you had taken the time to visit my link, logic suggests you'd perhaps understand.