Xserver 6.8.2

Stuff that has yet to be sorted into a category.
Message
Author
User avatar
pakt
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 16:54
Location: Sweden

#41 Post by pakt »

Here is a short instruction:

edit /usr/X11R6/bin/xwin:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

#-- Uncomment the server you want --
MYSERVER=xorg
#MYSERVER=kdrive

xmodmap /root/.Xmodmap
I found a good Swedish xmodmap on the internet (I've attached it below) and made the modifications you suggested.

Results: Success! I'm typing this now from Puppy 1.0.5rc with X.org 6.8.2 and a working Swedish keyboard:
Attachments
Xmodmap.se.gz
(1.25 KiB) Downloaded 637 times
User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#42 Post by MU »

Congratullations :)

Can you also post your xorg.conf, please?
I still don't have my ALT-keys working :?

Thanks, Mark
User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#43 Post by MU »

Ha! Works!!!

I did not use
clear Mod1
clear Mod2

Now some adaptions and I have a "real" german keyboard, though the Xorg-Keyboard-driver is broken. Great, Thank you ! Image

Mark
User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#44 Post by MU »

I just see, you don't even have to change
/usr/X11R6/bin/xwin
as .Xmodmap is loaded automatically from xwinpuppy

Setting up an international keyboard for Xorg 6.8.2 with Puppy

Germans:
create a file /root/.Xmodmap
with beaver, containing these lines:

Code: Select all

clear Mod1
clear Mod2

keycode  64 = Alt_L Meta_L
keycode 108 = Mode_switch


    keycode 11 = 2 quotedbl twosuperior
    keycode 12 = 3 section threesuperior
    keycode 16 = 7 slash braceleft
    keycode 17 = 8 parenleft bracketleft
    keycode 18 = 9 parenright bracketright
    keycode 19 = 0 equal braceright
    keycode 20 = ssharp question backslash
    keycode 22 = BackSpace
    keycode 24 = q Q at
    keycode 34 = udiaeresis Udiaeresis
    keycode 35 = plus asterisk asciitilde
    keycode 47 = odiaeresis Odiaeresis
    keycode 48 = adiaeresis Adiaeresis
    keycode 49 = asciicircum degree
    keycode 58 = m M mu
    keycode 94 = less greater bar brokenbar

    keycode 107 = Delete
    keycode 110 = Right
    keycode 113 = Left

add Mod1 = Alt_L
add Mod2 = Mode_switch

This works on my Laptop-Keyboard in most applications except beaver.

Swedish: Download Pakts swedish xmodmap, extract it in /root, and rename it to .Xmodmap
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic ... t=30#14403

Then restart X or type in rxvt:
xmodmap /root/.Xmodmap

You also should do this:
run from the "Startmenue - Control Panel - Chooselocale country localization", and select your country (Germans: DE_DE@Euro).

Others:
You can find out the keycodes using xev.
Run it, click it with the mouse, andhit a key.
Then the keycode is displayed.
use these keycodes to alter the .Xmodmap from Pakt or me.

If you finished, please post it here, I might create a dotpup with a small "Xmodmap-Chooser".

Mark
Attachments
xev.tar.gz
(12.58 KiB) Downloaded 701 times
Last edited by MU on Thu 20 Oct 2005, 15:22, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#45 Post by MU »

There just happened something strange... I don't know the reason.

Mounted usr_devx.fs, tried to run the kdrive-server (that did not start, maybe I installed to much Xorg, but does not matter, just wanted to test something), ran some programs.

Anyway, suddenly, I need other keycodes.
Somewhere, somehow I seem to have another keyboard, although the xorg-log still says it loads the default-driver.

Here is the .Xmodmap i need now (The cursor-keys and Alt-Gr have new codes):

Code: Select all

clear Mod1
clear Mod2

keycode  64 = Alt_L Meta_L
keycode 113 = Mode_switch


    keycode 11 = 2 quotedbl twosuperior
    keycode 12 = 3 section threesuperior
    keycode 16 = 7 slash braceleft
    keycode 17 = 8 parenleft bracketleft
    keycode 18 = 9 parenright bracketright
    keycode 19 = 0 equal braceright
    keycode 20 = ssharp question backslash
    keycode 22 = BackSpace
    keycode 24 = q Q at
    keycode 34 = udiaeresis Udiaeresis
    keycode 35 = plus asterisk asciitilde
    keycode 47 = odiaeresis Odiaeresis
    keycode 48 = adiaeresis Adiaeresis
    keycode 49 = asciicircum degree
    keycode 58 = m M mu
    keycode 94 = less greater bar brokenbar

    keycode 107 = Delete
    keycode 102 = Right
    keycode 100 = Left

add Mod1 = Alt_L
add Mod2 = Mode_switch

*I never will understand computers...* ;)
Ruler-Nrg

#46 Post by Ruler-Nrg »

MU wrote:
Ruler-Nrg wrote: alright ! it works :D ik did some confugering myself.. i used the xorg.conf file that i have on my redhat intall. En edited it to work with puppy. It al works now:D i'm happy :)

al thats left is to find a way to get hardware acceleration in mij via-epia.
Can you attach your xorg.conf please? I'm curious what it looks like.

For Hardware-accelerattion you might need a DRI-module, but they just exist for a few grafics-chips.

I will upload them in some hours.

Thanks, Mark
there u go :) there is noting special in it.. but it works fine :)
Attachments
Xorg.conf.tar.gz
(882 Bytes) Downloaded 463 times
User avatar
pakt
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 16:54
Location: Sweden

#47 Post by pakt »

MU wrote:Congratullations :)

Can you also post your xorg.conf, please?
Mark, here is my xorg.conf. I had to add a line to make my mouse scroll wheel work (I've put a comment after the line).

BTW, I forgot to mention that Start -> Shut Down -> Power-off computer/Reboot computer do not work. Only after quiting X (Ctrl-Alt-BS) does the computer shutdown/reboot.

/Paul
Attachments
xorg.conf_se.gz
(4.51 KiB) Downloaded 407 times
User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#48 Post by MU »

Thanks ruler, Thanks Pakt.

Will have a closer look this evening :)

Mark
User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#49 Post by MU »

I uploaded a new version, that also can be installed (extracted) from the commandline (see first message).
Apart from the new installer it is identical to the old version, so no need to download it again, if you got it working already.

Mark
User avatar
pakt
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 16:54
Location: Sweden

#50 Post by pakt »

MU wrote:I uploaded a new version, that also can be installed (extracted) from the commandline (see first message).
Apart from the new installer it is identical to the old version, so no need to download it again, if you got it working already.
Mark, I assume this new version has not fixed this bug:
pakt wrote:Start -> Shut Down -> Power-off computer/Reboot computer do not work. Only after quiting X (Ctrl-Alt-BS) does the computer shutdown/reboot.
Is there a simple fix for this that I can apply myself?
User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#51 Post by MU »

Yes. Install this dotpup.

It includes 2 slightly patched files:
/usr/X11R6/bin/fvwmpoweroff
/usr/X11R6/bin/fvwmreboot

They are used by JWM and Fvwm95.
I just changed the line

exec killall X
to
kill `ps |grep "X "|grep -v "grep"|sed "s/^\ *//"|sed "s/ .*$//"|head -n 1`

Works with Xorg and Kdrive.

What it does: greps for "X " as "killall X" does not work with Xorg.
In Xorg, a "ps" shows this:
597 root 119476 S X :0 -bpp 16

So with help of "sed" I get the Process-ID of X and kill it.

Barry might add this patch to Puppy 1.0.5?
I oversaw this bug before, as i use Icewm.

Greets, Mark
Attachments
fvwm95reboot-patched.pup
(4.78 KiB) Downloaded 490 times
User avatar
pakt
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 16:54
Location: Sweden

#52 Post by pakt »

MU wrote:Yes. Install this dotpup.
Excellent, Mark - I have tested it and works great!

Thanks, Paul
petersieg_on_ipaq

xorg 6.8.2 brings compaq ipaq to 1280x1024 - GREAT!!

#53 Post by petersieg_on_ipaq »

Hi Mark,
xorg 6.8.2 brings compaq ipaq to 1280x1024 - GREAT!!
THANKS A LOT!!

Peter Sieg
GuestToo
Puppy Master
Posts: 4083
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 18:11

#54 Post by GuestToo »

kill `ps |grep "X "|grep -v "grep"|sed "s/^\ *//"|sed "s/ .*$//"|head -n 1`
you might be able to use

kill `pidof X`

sometimes there are problems using ps ... the end of the line is often cut off

one thing i've noticed, is that busybox's pidof is a little different from the full version ... for example, this should work but does not:

if pidof X
then
# do something
fi

but this does work:

if pidof X | grep [0-9]
then
# do something
fi
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#55 Post by BarryK »

Okay, I've only now read this thread!
Will check it out.
howard
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu 23 Jun 2005, 02:57
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina, US

Puppy's video on a laptop with Neomagic... Any hope?

#56 Post by howard »

Maybe someone should take a look at how the developer of Damn Small Linux [DSL] implemented its video. DSL's video works just fine on my NeoEvil laptop without my having to do anything but maybe answer a question at boot-up. The reason I don't favor DSL is that the word processor they chose to bundle with it sucks.

I'd look into the matter myself but unfortunately I possess no more Linux skills than that of an end-user.
Howard
User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#57 Post by MU »

As far as I understand, DSL uses XFree 4.5.0, what is comparable to X.org.

Puppy uses the smaller "KDrive" instead.
With XFree/Xorg it would for example not be possible to add Gtk2 to such a small iso.

If KDrive does not support your Graficscard, install the X.org-Dotpup.

Mark
kcin
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed 28 Sep 2005, 14:47
Location: Oakland CA

#58 Post by kcin »

Along the lines of this thread, I have a related issue, though not a showstopper, but I am still curious and hopeful to figure out a way to fix it.

I have 2 identical HP Omnibook Xe2 Laptops (piii 500) with Silicon Motion LynxEM video (SM-710), I believe...

This card works fine with Puppy displaying X graphical environment, however, when I exit X for instance when I logout to change WMs with xwin at the command line, ... I don't get the command line... or at least not a visible one. What I get is a 640x480 square of garbled colors (green, purple, black and white). I can still type simple commands and it works, but I can't see what the heck I'm typing. Like I said, not a showstopper, but annoying.

I tried the xorg package, and configured it to use the siliconmotion driver and set up the HorizSync and VertRefresh in xorg.conf to work with my laptop. This gets me into a readable, visible console commandline, but will not even let me into X at all- period. It kicks me out with an error every time I try "xwin <WM>.. (can't recall the exact wording of the error now, here at work) And I couldn't get back to the kdrive server by following the prescribed method of editing the config file that controls that. I have had to blow away 2 pup001's that ended up this way, and have not been able to get xorg to work on these laptops.

Here is the original thread for when I first found this problem:

http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic ... highlight=


Anyone have any suggestions on what else I may be able to try? I'd sure love to get this fixed.

Best regards,

kcin
sb_puppy

#59 Post by sb_puppy »

I just installed the xorg video and ran the config to setup, (works good!). It seems to be defaulting to a pretty high value, I am thinking one notch lower may help font sizes. Sorry for a dumb question, but how do I check/change the current screen resolution with xorg?
User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#60 Post by MU »

use "xvidtune"

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=14401#14401


Alternatively, edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

There you have a
Section "Screen"

There you will see
DefaultDepth 24
where 24 might be another value (it is the color-depth).

In the next lines, you see the default-resolutions for each colordepth, for example

Code: Select all

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes        "1280x1024 1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
You can replace it with

Code: Select all

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes        "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
Then the 24-Bit-Mode will use 1024x768 by default.

Mark
Post Reply