Can connect with open network, not with WEP

Booting, installing, newbie
Post Reply
Message
Author
Marek
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 18:09
Location: Berlin, Germany

Can connect with open network, not with WEP

#1 Post by Marek »

iwconfig result of successful connection with open network "BT"

Code: Select all

# iwconfig wlan0 essid BT key open
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"BT"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:17:9A:66:2F:67   
          Bit Rate=1 Mb/s   Tx-Power=27 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:4272-796B-4C4D-5038-3431-6878-7A   Security mode:open
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=18/70  Signal level=-92 dBm  Noise level=-94 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

unsuccessful with WEP network "interarchy"

Code: Select all

# iwconfig wlan0 essid interarchy key s:xxxxxxxxxxxxx
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"interarchy"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
          Tx-Power=27 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:4272-796B-4C4D-5038-3431-6878-7A   Security mode:open
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
Screenshots of my connection attempt via GUI:
http://i46.tinypic.com/2lvk6cp.jpg

User avatar
Béèm
Posts: 11763
Joined: Wed 22 Nov 2006, 00:47
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

#2 Post by Béèm »

Congratulations, nice set of screenshots.
1 - I never give the access points mac address.
2 - Are you sure about that long WEP key? I only have a 10 digit one.
3 - What IP did you get?
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
[url=http://puppylinux.org/wikka/HomePage]Consult Wikka[/url]
Use peppyy's [url=http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html]puppysearch[/url]

Marek
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 18:09
Location: Berlin, Germany

still offline

#3 Post by Marek »

1 - Are you sure about that long WEP key? I only have a 10 digit one.
it's the ascii passphrase. I used a tool to convert it to 10 digit hex keys, didn't help entering them, both by GUI or cmdline.

3 - What IP did you get?
I installed wpa_gui now, and Pwireless2. Connecting with wpa_gui I don't get IP assigned, unless I get one with the network manager, cf wpa_gui1.png below. Here's Pwireless2's status report:

Code: Select all

Wpa_supplicant Status:
-------------------------------------------------
bssid=00:13:49:11:25:50
ssid=interarchy
id=0
pairwise_cipher=WEP-40
group_cipher=WEP-40
key_mgmt=NONE
wpa_state=COMPLETED
-------------------------------------------------


wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"interarchy"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:13:49:11:25:50   
          Bit Rate=11 Mb/s   Tx-Power=27 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:14CF-5358-86 [2]   Security mode:open
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=50/70  Signal level=-60 dBm  Noise level=-93 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0



wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:14:78:8F:8B:A8  
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:27 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:9720 (9.4 KiB)
Anyway, even with IP assigned (or so wpa_gui shows) there's no connection with firefox and no ping for google.com. I managed [update: a WEP] connection once with the network manager, unfortunately I can't reproduce the steps it took. When I rebooted the stored working profile didn't work anymore.
Last edited by Marek on Mon 23 Nov 2009, 17:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#4 Post by jemimah »

You probably don't want to install both wpa_gui and Pwireless2 at the same time. (Or at least make sure you install Pwireless2 second) Make sure you are using the Pwireless2 I posted this morning as it has several fixes that may help. Looks like you're connected, but DHCP failed to work. Try pressing the 'Reset DHCP' button in Pwireless2.

Marek
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 18:09
Location: Berlin, Germany

#5 Post by Marek »

> Or at least make sure you install Pwireless2 second
Did so. I had this problem before installing both anyway. Yesterday I connected without problem via network manager and a WPA2 connection. It's in a different part of town so I can't give logfiles or status reports right now, no WPA2 in my neigbourhood.

> Make sure you are using the Pwireless2 I posted this morning
Can you provide a link? I used Pwireless2 Beta available here. Couldn't find a link in this thread.

> Try pressing the 'Reset DHCP' button in Pwireless2
Did so repeatedly. When I do, IPs assigned by the network manager get lost. Here's a status with IP assigened - no connection anyway:

Code: Select all

Wpa_supplicant Status:
-------------------------------------------------
bssid=00:13:49:11:25:50
ssid=interarchy
id=0
pairwise_cipher=WEP-40
group_cipher=WEP-40
key_mgmt=NONE
wpa_state=COMPLETED
ip_address=169.254.209.240
-------------------------------------------------


wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"interarchy"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:13:49:11:25:50   
          Bit Rate=11 Mb/s   Tx-Power=27 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:14CF-5358-86 [2]   Security mode:open
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=43/70  Signal level=-67 dBm  Noise level=-92 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0



wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:14:78:8F:8B:A8  
          inet addr:169.254.209.240  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:2460 (2.4 KiB)
another IP assigned by network manager, to no avail:
ip_address=169.254.214.92

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#6 Post by jemimah »

If you have the 'Reset DHCP' button, you have the newest version. Remember that Pwireless2 and Network Manager conflict. You need to uninstall Pwireless2 and wpa_gui if you want to use Network Manger. Otherwise it will be very confusing for everybody!

The 169 IP is not a real IP. You generally get that when DHCP fails. Have you tried using your WEP password instead of the HEX key? Your results are consistant with with mine when the WEP passkey is not correct.

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#7 Post by jemimah »

Is the access point something you set up? If there is a way to get the HEX key from the access point configuration or the access point's admin you might get better results. If you have just a password it can fail to figure out how many bits to use and I read somewhere there is more than one algorithm for converting WEP ascii to hex. Much easier if you just have the actual WEP key.

Marek
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 18:09
Location: Berlin, Germany

#8 Post by Marek »

Code: Select all

- uninstalled wpa_gui and Pwireless2
- reinstalled Pwireless2

- Pwireless2 msg: "Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory"

- reboot

- content of /var/run/wpa_supplicant:
-- fixed wpa_cli, as recommended
   (I had to create the dir and copy the file during first install)

- reboot

- new content of /var/run/wpa_supplicant:
-- wpa_cli *and*
-- wlan0 (socket)
> there is more than one algorithm for converting WEP ascii to hex
BINGOOOO!!! I'm online!!!! :-):-) The access point's configuration interface gives a different hex key than the tool I used to convert the passphrase (the passphrase works well when I connect with Windows)

UNFORTUNATELY:

Code: Select all

- reboot (I had a hunch...)

- Pwireless2 msg: "Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory"

- wlan0 disappeared from /var/run/wpa_supplicant
another reboot didn't help. I can connect with network manager and legacy Pwireless, as now I have the right hex key, yet I'd like to use Pwireless2. Any idea on how to fix the wlan0 socket issue?

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#9 Post by jemimah »

You shouldn't need the wpa_cli update, but it shouldn't hurt.

That message may be the result of trying to run Network Wizard and Pwireless2 at the same time. They both try to kill eachother's processes and other general chaos.

You can restart all of Pwireless2's processes by clicking on the /root/Startup/networking script.

To disable network wizard completely, move the the file /etc/rc.d/rc.network to some other location. and reboot. You can always put it back to re-enable network-wizard.

Marek
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 18:09
Location: Berlin, Germany

#10 Post by Marek »

> move the the file /etc/rc.d/rc.network to some other location
Did so, everything is fine now. I copied some win fonts and deleted all desktop icons my mum won't need. The old Thinkpad 770 is ready now for safe and comfortable senior citizen surfing :-) Thanks for your patience!

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#11 Post by jemimah »

You're welcome, good luck, and thanks for testing Pwireless2!

Post Reply