Puppy2: problem detecting floppy

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Puppy2: problem detecting floppy

#1 Post by BarryK »

We were discussing this, but now I can't find the thread...

So, continuing.

A couple of guys reported error messages at bootup, as they don't actually have
floppy drives, but dmesg seems to think they have,

Could you guys try this:

Code: Select all

# /usr/lib/mut/bin/fdinfo  /dev/fd0
Kindly let me know what it reports.
User avatar
Ted Dog
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 02:35
Location: Heart of Texas

#2 Post by Ted Dog »

Code: Select all

sh-3.00# /usr/lib/mut/bin/fdinfo  /dev/fd0
device:/dev/fd0|3|H1440|1.44MB 3.5"
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#3 Post by BarryK »

Ted Dog,
That's on a computer without floppy drive?
...my memory is vague, think you may have already stated that on the previous
thread.
User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#4 Post by Flash »

Barry, the original thread is in the Multisession forum. :)

On a computer with no floppy drive or hard drive, only a DVD drive:
sh-3.00# /usr/lib/mut/bin/fdinfo /dev/fd0
device:/dev/fd0|3|H1440|1.44MB 3.5"
sh-3.00#
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#5 Post by BarryK »

Okay, I've got another thing to try:

Code: Select all

# dd if=/dev/fd0 of=/dev/null bs=1 count=32
If it returns an error message and quits, good.
If it hangs, use CTRL-C to kill it.
The main thing is, we want it to return an error message, and to do so quickly.
User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#6 Post by Flash »

It returned nothing at all:
sh-3.00# dd if=/dev/fd0 of=/dev/null bs=1 count=32
(Now I can't find a thread, the one where you report the results of trying your left/right mouse buttons. I have a Kensington "Expert Mouse" trackball, with 4 buttons and a "Scroll Ring" around the trackball. Puppy correctly recognizes the left and right mouse buttons and the scroll wheel, and clicking either of the unused buttons copies text to or from windows, including rxvt.)
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#7 Post by BarryK »

I've just realized, the mount command will probably do the trick.

Code: Select all

# mount -t msdos /dev/fd0 /mnt/data
...that will simply fail if no floppy, and it doesn't cause any big delay.

So, on your laptop with no floppy drive, the above command should simply,
without much delay, return an error message.
User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#8 Post by Flash »

My computer is a desktop but with onboard video and audio. Anyway, here's what it returns:
sh-3.00# mount -t msdos /dev/fd0 /mnt/data
mount: /dev/fd0 is write-protected, mounting read-only
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#9 Post by BarryK »

Flash,
I only need people with a PC/laptop with no floppy drive to test this.
That is the situation that is causing the problem.
bushybill
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 03:20
Location: Western Colorado

#10 Post by bushybill »

Barry K,

I got the same thing after a delay of 20-30 seconds

# mount -t msdos /dev/fd0 /mnt/data
mount: /dev/fd0 is write-protected, mounting read-only

epia M1000 with floppy drive enabled in bios so MUT works but no drive installed

hope this helps,
bushybill
User avatar
Ted Dog
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 02:35
Location: Heart of Texas

#11 Post by Ted Dog »

sh-3.00# mount -t msdos /dev/fd0 /mnt/data

long delay

mount: /dev/fd0 is write-protected, mounting read-only



:cry:
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#12 Post by BarryK »

'mount' is the method I have used in the alpha snapshot of 11th April, just
announced.
Oh well, at least it works.
I'll probably go back to using 'disktype', perhaps that is less delay.
This problem is only likely to occur on the first boot anyway.
PeterSieg
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:06
Location: Germany, 37603
Contact:

no floppy..

#13 Post by PeterSieg »

Hi Barry.

Tested puppy2alpha on ibm thinkpad 770z without a floppy!

1. #mount -t msdos /dev/fd0 /mnt/data..
delay..
mount: /dev/fd0 is write protected, mounting read only
#
I don't see a error message :(

2. mtools; mdir
delay..
init: set default params
Cannot initialize A:
#
It takes also some time.. but at least it gives an error message..

3. dd
#dd if=/dev/fd0 of=/dev/null bs=256 count=1
delay..
no response...ctrl-c

BTW: Mut also offers fd0 and scan
So for now, I have a problem with pup2a, because if I want to save the session,
it 'hangs' at the none existing floppy...

Until solved, probably introduce a boot parameter to disable floppy in these functions..?

PS
Have fun :)
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#14 Post by BarryK »

I was toying with the idea that if the computer has usb interface, then do not
look on a floppy disk for saved session.
Reason: floppy disk is a pathetic media for saving sessions, as it is so small, and
if have usb much better to use a usb stick.

Peter, does this give similar delay as the others?:
# disktype /dev/fd0
PeterSieg
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:06
Location: Germany, 37603
Contact:

disktype /dev/fd0

#15 Post by PeterSieg »

Hi Barry.

Just booted pup2a within qemu without hdd+fd.

This is somewhat different than thinpad 770z without fd!!

At boot, there were no error messages about floppy!

tested:
mount -t msdos /dev/fd0 /mnt/data
got an error message without any delay!

disktype /dev/fd0
loonng ... loonnngg delay..
some tries etc.
loonng ... loonnngg delay..
than error messages

mdir a:
short delay, than error message.

So at the moment, the mdir a: seems to have the shortest delay and seems to allways give an error message...

PS
Have fun :)
keenerd
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat 20 Aug 2005, 19:24

#16 Post by keenerd »

Barry, none of your methods worked on my Thinkpad 600E.

Digging on forums, I found this: http://fdutils.linux.lu/
Use "floppycontrol --pollstate"
The 1992K formatted floppies are also useful.

Also found this script: http://unix.derkeiler.com/Newsgroups/co ... /1152.html

Later in that thread, one guy actually dumps and reads tars to unformatted floppies - could that work for Puppy?
PeterSieg
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:06
Location: Germany, 37603
Contact:

fdutils test results in qemu

#17 Post by PeterSieg »

Hi. compiled fdutils in 1.0.8r1 and tested with it in pup2a11-4.

1 simulated floppy on /dev/fd0

./getfdprm
DS HD sect=18

immediate response!

./getfdprm /dev/fd0
DS HD sect=18

also immediate response!

./detfdprm /dev/fd1 (which doesn't exist)
... No such device

also immediate response!

Will try this on my thinkpad 770z without a floppy this evening...

PS
Have fun :)
PeterSieg
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:06
Location: Germany, 37603
Contact:

getfdprm works!!

#18 Post by PeterSieg »

Hi. Just tested getfdprm on puppy 1.0.8r1 on thinkpad 770z without a floppy.

./getfdprm
... No such device

immediate response.
So it looks like that this is a tool for checking if a floppy is present..

Just the size: 80kb..?

PS
Attachments
getfdprm.zip
(35.4 KiB) Downloaded 332 times
Have fun :)
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#19 Post by BarryK »

That's great!
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#20 Post by BarryK »

Not so good :(
getfdprm always returns this:
Get geometry parameters: no such device
I also tried compiling the source and installing everything, same thing.
I do have a floppy drive, but with or without a floppy insterted, with or
without /dev/fd0 paramter, get that same error msg.

I tried this one:
# floppycontrol --type --drive /dev/fd0
This returns "H1440" for fd0, and "(null)" for fd1.
...so, could you test this on your PCs?
Post Reply