Twin Screenz?!? Zarfy installed in Slack but nothing happens

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Post Reply
Message
Author
fleamour
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue 20 May 2008, 00:06
Location: UK

Twin Screenz?!? Zarfy installed in Slack but nothing happens

#1 Post by fleamour »

I heard talk of Zarfy but installing under latest community Slack 6.xxx results in nothing happening when installed .pet & click on Zarfy menu entry?

Anyone have experience on double monitors?
C2D tower ~ Mint 18/Slack Pupp 6.3.0 DVD

User avatar
drunkjedi
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon 25 May 2015, 02:50

#2 Post by drunkjedi »

Zarfy comes inbuilt in Fatdog and I never had problems with it setting up dual monitors.

I can help you set up using command line though.

Run xrandr in a terminal and post it's output here.
Also tell how you want them setup.

belham2
Posts: 1715
Joined: Mon 15 Aug 2016, 22:47

Re: Twin Screenz?!? Zarfy installed but nothing happens

#3 Post by belham2 »

fleamour wrote:I heard talk of Zarfy but installing under latest community Slack 6.xxx results in nothing happening when installed .pet & click on Zarfy menu entry?

Anyone have experience on double monitors?

Hi Fleamour,

There's a known problem in Slacko 6.xxx(s) when it comes to Zarfy and dual screen setup. Here's what I ran into:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... &start=435

Neither Peebee nor myself could get it resolved. It seems sometimes Zarfy will see dual monitors, and sometimes it won't. I've been setting these up in all pups & pup-related derivatives for several years now, and all was great until Slacko 6.xxx versions came along.

There is no workaround on this at the present. As drunkjedi posted, run "xrandr" in terminal but add a "-q" at the end. Like this: "xrandr -q". If it shows only one monitor, then you are affected and there isn't anything that can be done about at the present except switch to another pup &/or pup-related distro if must have dual screens.

I run the DebianDogs, Peebee's Xenials, Justlighthouse, Fatdog64, and a few more, and all these handle dual screens with aplomb. Strangely, there are quite a few complaints in Slacko forums about this Zarfy problem and yet nothing is done. Why they haven't been addressed yet, I am not sure. Dual screen is pretty common among many users nowadays, especially given the wide number of laptops out there that can act as a 2nd monitor.

Hopefully "xrandr -q" will actually show two screes available. If so, you're in luck and drunkjedi will easily walk you through (if you need it) how to set them up.

Good luck!

fleamour
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue 20 May 2008, 00:06
Location: UK

#4 Post by fleamour »

Code: Select all

# xrandr -q
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-I-1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 476mm x 268mm
   1920x1080      60.0*+
   1680x1050      59.9  
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1440x900       75.0     59.9  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.1     70.1     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     60.3  
   640x480        75.0     66.7  
HDMI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA-1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 476mm x 268mm
   1920x1080      60.0*+
   1680x1050      60.0  
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1440x900       75.0     59.9  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.1     70.1     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        75.0     66.7     60.0  
   720x400        70.1  
Is it possible to have top screen as more real estate with no tool bars, bottom being main monitor? At the moment I have bottom desktop duplicated in top, kinda like GParted USB, must be the default on kernel?
C2D tower ~ Mint 18/Slack Pupp 6.3.0 DVD

User avatar
drunkjedi
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon 25 May 2015, 02:50

#5 Post by drunkjedi »

Hi, sorry for late reply, it was almost midnight here so went to sleep.

Anyway, so you have one monitor connected to DVI and one to VGA port.
And currently they mirror each other.
You want an extended monitor to have more playing field.
And you want all icons and panel on your VGA monitor and your DVI one clean.
Am I right?

How are your screens placed physically.
I mean which monitor is on your left and which is on right? (it's easier if VGA one is on left)
Or is one placed on top of another? (some have that kind of setup too)(it's easier if VGA one is at bottom)

Let's say you have VGA connected monitor on your left and DVI one on your right.
Then do run following in terminal.

Code: Select all

xrandr --output VGA-1 --left-of DVI-I-1
But if your DVI is on your left, then running

Code: Select all

xrandr --output DVI-I-1 --left-of VGA-1
Will give you extended monitor too, but all icons and bottom panel will be on your DVI.
As they are setup to be on left by defaults.
You have to move Icons manually one time.
And edit setting for bottom panel and drive Icons to place them on right side.

Anyway if the command works, you have to make a script in /root/Startup with any name.
Copy the command that works for you in that script and save.
so that this setup is kept always.
Last edited by drunkjedi on Sun 20 Nov 2016, 13:57, edited 1 time in total.

fleamour
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue 20 May 2008, 00:06
Location: UK

#6 Post by fleamour »

Sorry to be a pain but monitors are stacked vertical, need top monitor to be extra. I believe VGA is bottom. Gotta catch church sermon over net then will take a gander...

Many thx.
C2D tower ~ Mint 18/Slack Pupp 6.3.0 DVD

User avatar
drunkjedi
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon 25 May 2015, 02:50

#7 Post by drunkjedi »

No worries mate,
Run following command whenever you get time.

Code: Select all

xrandr --output DVI-I-1 --above VGA-1

fleamour
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue 20 May 2008, 00:06
Location: UK

#8 Post by fleamour »

Code: Select all

xrandr --output VGA-1 --above DVI-I-1
has correct mouse transition from bottom to top but system bar & icons in top monitor.

Code: Select all

xrandr --output DVI-I-1 --above VGA-1
Has icons & bar correctly in bottom monitor but mouse transition only flows from bottom edge of lower monitor to top edge of upper monitor.
C2D tower ~ Mint 18/Slack Pupp 6.3.0 DVD

User avatar
drunkjedi
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon 25 May 2015, 02:50

#9 Post by drunkjedi »

You have to use the xrandr command which gives you normal mouse transition.
That's all the xrandr can do.

For icons and panel to appear on bottom screen, you will have to edit setting of panel and drive icon and drag other icons manually to bottom screen.

There maybe a easier way of this that I am unaware of.
I am at work now so can't test and see ATM.

Post Reply