Page 90 of 100

Posted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 02:20
by csshin

don570 wrote:
csshin wrote:

# Full installed Linux

title Fluppy 013 (sda1/boot)
uuid 5a45137c-d016-4aa1-b42c-5923aec1aacb
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro
I have no experience with grub4dos but
shouldn't your hard disk be referred to as hda1
rather than sda1

I have actually tried hda1, sda1, hd(0,0). The results are the same. I think grub located the partition correctly. Only that vmlinuz stuck at some point.[/quote]

Posted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 13:42
by nooby
I still fail to get Pwidgets to work. Should one have to activate it in some odd way? or does it only work after reboot. Yes one should go to File? and start it somehow. Wow very frustrating. It doesn't behave that way on other puppies.

Posted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 16:39
by tlchost
nooby wrote:I still fail to get Pwidgets to work. Should one have to activate it in some odd way?
It''s not an odd way....turning on Pwidgets is in one of the menus....I had the same question and finally found the icon....one needs to search for it.

Thom

Posted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 16:46
by James C
nooby wrote:I still fail to get Pwidgets to work. Should one have to activate it in some odd way? or does it only work after reboot. Yes one should go to File? and start it somehow. Wow very frustrating. It doesn't behave that way on other puppies.
See here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 230#496230

Posted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 16:51
by nooby
Thanks! It is all about logic and preferences. :)

Posted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 21:18
by edoc
So, when will Fluppy be ported to the iPod?

;-)

Posted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 04:00
by edoc
I have downloaded and uncompressed the Linux app from http://chirp.danplanet.com/downloads

BTW: Midori crashed the first time I tried then was stable when I re-opened it and tried again.

It requires Python so I grabbed the SFS from the Puppeee PetStore and rebooted.

When I tried to open the chirp app I received an error saying that the pyserial module was not loaded.

I looked at the list of modules available for manual selection for loading and pyserial was not there.

Would someone direct me to a Fluppy 013-friendly source for pyserial, please?

Thanks!

Re: media codecs missing

Posted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 18:32
by gcmartin
maxpro4u wrote:
gcmartin wrote:Parole Media generates an error message on playback of one of its defaults. Anyone know anything about this media player and how to resolve this?

Thanks in advance
What type of file are you trying to play?
Here is a link to parole
http://goodies.xfce.org/projects/applications/parole
Wjhat is this suppose to mean..from the site you show here?
"The GStreamer framework provides a strong plugin interface to dynamically load plugins that support certain media types, the more you have GStreamer plugins installed in your system the more you can play media formats with Parole. Parole is completely free, means that you can user it, redistribute it and/or modify it under GNU general public license, in the other hands some GStreamer plugins are not free, for example to decode some closed media formats, and possibly other plugins have licensing issues with their source code, it is up to you or usually to the distribution to ship/accept the license of these plugins, here is the list of Gstreamer plugins "

Does this mean that simple URL playback does NOT work unless we purchase something? And stuff built-in to Parole won't work either?

My post shows that I am trying to go to a website that I got from the Parole menu. I just trying to understand whether others have tried its menus and hit the same message that I hit. And if so, did they know why.

Thanks for asking, though. Did anyone else experience same or similar usage of Parole?
P.S. My opening post of this issue in this Fluppy thread is here, Parole Media generates an error message on playback of one of its defaults.

Posted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 15:23
by edoc
CUPS is still working on the HP P1006, but it puts up an error about no Postscript support when we try to print a PDF file.

Is there a way to fix that, please?

Thanks!

Posted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 16:06
by rcrsn51
edoc wrote:CUPS is still working on the HP P1006, but it puts up an error about no Postscript support when we try to print a PDF file.
Please give a specific example. From what application are you printing?

Posted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 17:18
by edoc
Evince document viewer 2.29.92

Is Evince not CUPS-friendly?

Should I try OpenOffice or LibreOffice instead?

Posted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 18:50
by rcrsn51
I tried a couple of PDF's in Evince and they printed. Please post a specific document for me to test.

Posted: Sat 23 Apr 2011, 01:46
by jemimah
Just wanted to post and say I'm still alive. I've been a little burned out on computers lately so I haven't been very productive. I'm starting to get back into it though.

Posted: Sat 23 Apr 2011, 02:34
by Puppyt
Recharge yourself as long as it takes jemimah - if you were to take a backseat from Puppy now and forevermore you'd see that Fluppy, Puppee and all your innovations are gifts that keep giving to the Puppy Community. I'm sure we haven't voiced our appreciation enough (who could?), but your contributions are uber-legendary.
A Thousand Thanks!
:)

Posted: Sat 23 Apr 2011, 03:03
by KJ
jemimiah .... Good to see your post .... Sorry to hear of the computer related burn-out. Thanks for all your hard work on these Puppy based projects ... I use them daily and think of you, BK and others. Take care of yourself and those you love .... first. KJ

Posted: Sat 23 Apr 2011, 03:27
by edoc
rcrsn51 wrote:I tried a couple of PDF's in Evince and they printed. Please post a specific document for me to test.
http://www.apologiaonline.com/bookextras/01/Errata2.pdf

I downloaded and saved this then tried to print it.

I get the same Evince error in Print Preview and Print.

Posted: Sat 23 Apr 2011, 12:36
by rcrsn51
edoc wrote:but it puts up an error about no Postscript support when we try to print a PDF file.
I see that error on all PDF documents when I run Print Preview in Evince. But that's a problem with Evince. It does not appear to recognize documents in Postscript format.

However, I had no problems printing your test document. In fact, it printed more accurately in Fluppy/Evince than in Quirky/Epdfviewer.

Here is your standard bug-tracking procedure.

1. Boot using "pfix=ram" so your current savefile is not loaded.
2. Install the two packages needed to run your printer.
3. Restart your printer.
4. Run Evince and print the document.
Should I try OpenOffice or LibreOffice instead?
You shouldn't need to ask. That is an obvious thing to test.

Posted: Sat 23 Apr 2011, 19:22
by edoc
rcrsn51 wrote:
Should I try OpenOffice or LibreOffice instead?
You shouldn't need to ask. That is an obvious thing to test.
I always ask because the dependencies and vagaries across apps and versions of apps are unpredictable.

When I don't ask I am invariably told that I should have.

I added the PDF extension to OO and tried to open the file - OO does not handle the document correctly - it renders mostly garbage characters.

Posted: Sat 23 Apr 2011, 19:30
by rcrsn51
Perhaps some other Fluppy user can comment on printing PDF files from Evince.

Posted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 20:44
by edoc
Is anyone using UFRaw with Fluppy, with as a plugin for GIMP or free-standing?

It has a list of supported cameras that are not supported by Gtkam, including the Kodak EasyShare Z981.