Page 3 of 3

Posted: Sat 17 Nov 2007, 13:22
by Leachim
I can add a command line option, too. But the main application of xwizard is the replacement of the current xorgwizard, which is started by a script (xwin) that will not allow for supplying options.

A separate configuration file will work anyways. The idea behind X-Wizard is a USB-pen based installation which will be run on many different PCs and which will select a proper X-configuration on each one - even if never run on this PC before. (That's the way my students and me are using the wizard.)

X-Wizard Update

Posted: Sat 17 Nov 2007, 13:54
by Leachim
I updated the X-Wizard as usual (in the first post of this thread).

The new version supports a configuration file, which can either be

* ~/.xwizard.conf

or

* /etc/xwizard.conf

The one in your home directory takes precedence if both exist.

Currently only one variable can be set:

Code: Select all

# X-Wizard configuration

!minimum_refresh_rate 85 # used for CRT-displays only!
Be careful: this file is executed as a Simplicity script, so any syntax-error in this file will hold the complete wizard. (I will supply a more robust integration later on.)

Attention: Don't forget the exclamation mark on the start of the line! Misspelling of minimum_refresh_rate will just set an unused variable.

Set the refresh rate to any rate you like. Reasonable values lie in the range 60 to 120 (Hz).

intel 810

Posted: Fri 23 Nov 2007, 09:47
by ecomoney
Good news about the intel 810's, they have always been a problem with puppy as xvesa cant get more than 800x600x16 with them

Posted: Fri 23 Nov 2007, 19:23
by cb88
hey leachim I hope you are reading the wNOP thread cause there is a good deal of info about various cards being uploaded there... the dumpfiles may quite usefull... http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23569

Posted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 13:15
by Leachim
Another Update!

The new version adds HorizSync and VertRefresh information to the generated xorg.conf-file. Most drivers are able to collect this information by themselves - but not all ...

I had some problems with an invisible mouse cursor when using the "nv"-driver. Has somebody else similar problems or does somebody know how to fix this?

Posted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 14:03
by HairyWill
doesn't work for me with the thinkpad x30 830m that I posted lspci for earlier
xwizard generates

Code: Select all

# This file was generated by xwizard (C) 2007 Dipl.-Ing. Michael Niederle
#PuppyHardwareProfile=Almador_Graphics_Chip_Accelerated_VGA_BIOS

Section "ServerLayout"
  Identifier     "simple configuration"
  Screen 0       "screen0" 0 0
  InputDevice    "mouse0"    "CorePointer"
  InputDevice    "keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
  RgbPath        "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/rgb"
  FontPath       "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
  FontPath       "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
  FontPath       "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load          "dbe" # double buffer extension
   SubSection    "extmod"
     Option      "omit xfree86-dga" # don't initialise the DGA extension
   EndSubSection
   Load          "type1"
   Load          "freetype"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
  Identifier     "keyboard0"
  Driver         "kbd"
  Option         "XkbRules" "xorg"
  Option         "XkbModel" "pc102"
  Option         "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
  Identifier     "mouse0"
  Driver         "mouse"
  Option         "Protocol" "auto"
  Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
  Identifier     "monitor0"
  ModelName      "unknown"
  Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
  Identifier     "device0"
  #model         "Almador Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0"
  Driver         "vesa"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
  Identifier     "screen0"
  Device         "device0"
  Monitor        "monitor0"
  DefaultDepth   24
  SubSection "Display"
    Viewport     0 0
    Depth        24
    Modes        "800x600"
  EndSubSection
EndSection
this upsets X so much that it replaces it with this before starting

Code: Select all

...
...

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "X.org Configured"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "kbd"
	Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
	Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
	Option      "XkbLayout" "gb" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "auto" #mouse0protocol
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/mouse"
	#Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
	#Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
	Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "Monitor Model"
	HorizSync    31.5-48.5
	VertRefresh  40-70
	#UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
	EndSection
	
Section "Modes"
	Identifier "Modes0"
	#modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
	### Available Driver options are:-
	### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
	### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
	### [arg]: arg optional
	#Option     "NoAccel"            	# [<bool>]
	#Option     "SWcursor"           	# [<bool>]
	#Option     "ColorKey"           	# <i>
	#Option     "CacheLines"         	# <i>
	#Option     "Dac6Bit"            	# [<bool>]
	#Option     "DRI"                	# [<bool>]
	#Option     "NoDDC"              	# [<bool>]
	#Option     "ShowCache"          	# [<bool>]
	#Option     "XvMCSurfaces"       	# <i>
	#Option     "PageFlip"           	# [<bool>]
	Identifier  "Card0"
	Driver      "i810" #card0driver
	VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
	BoardName   "82830 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]"
	BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Card0"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 16
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=Almador_Graphics_Chip

Posted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 14:26
by Leachim
HairyWill wrote:#PuppyHardwareProfile=Almador_Graphics_Chip_Accelerated_VGA_BIOS
#PuppyHardwareProfile=Almador_Graphics_Chip
The problem is the different profile-id that is generated by the two wizards.

This is a compatibility issue between the original xorgwizard and my new X-Wizard. I wil try to fix it!

Posted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 15:09
by Leachim
Update updated ...

The naming of the "PuppyHardwareProfile" should now be absolutely identical to that of the original xorgwizard, so xwin will not replace xorg.conf with a new one when X starts.

Posted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 17:27
by HairyWill
yup that uses your profile though the xorg.conf doesn't work.
Scary colours blooming over the screen I hit CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE fairly quickly. Is it possible to cook an LCD, I would cry :wink:

it is still using the vesa driver at 24bpp 800x600
Normally vesa works from cold boot 16bpp 1024x768 though restarting X corrupts half the screen

it should be i810, and the screen works well at 1024x768

I know there is an i830 driver but I think it is deprecated

Posted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 18:10
by Leachim
I'm not sure I understood you fully.

Which driver does the newly created xorg.conf use? My testing with your output of lspci and ddcprobe posted earlier in this thread suggests that it should use i810.

I'm sorry, but I cannot test on Intel-hardware myself. So thanks in advance for your help! Maybe you can post the xorg.conf created by the current version of X-Wizard.

Posted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 21:22
by HairyWill
it works
Sorry Leachim I forgot to overwrite the original lspci with the one you provided. I now get

Code: Select all

Section "Device"
  Identifier     "device0"
  #model         "Almador Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0"
  Driver         "i810"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
  Identifier     "screen0"
  Device         "device0"
  Monitor        "monitor0"
  DefaultDepth   24
  SubSection "Display"
    Viewport     0 0
    Depth        24
    Modes        "800x600"
  EndSubSection
EndSection
This works fine and actually displays at 1024x768 which is the maximum resolution of the screen!!!!

well done, thank you

Posted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 23:45
by Leachim
Bugfixed version uploaded

Some drivers didn't like the double-quotes in the hsync- and refresh-attributes. So the wizard now creates lines like

Code: Select all

  HorizSync      30 - 96
  VertRefresh    50 - 160
instead of

Code: Select all

  HorizSync      "30 - 96"
  VertRefresh    "50 - 160"
I also found some old PC with an Intel 810 graphics adapter! So I can now do testing on Intel graphics hardware myself!

Posted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 02:04
by ecomoney
Hi Leachim/all

Good to see the wizard is going well, Im taking a bit of a holiday from the cybercafe at the moment so wont be able to do much testing myself for a while. Good to see so many others are chipping in to help with this project though.

Keep up the good work!