Page 5 of 78

Posted: Sat 05 Aug 2017, 23:28
by AndresC2
Hello Fred! :D

Debootstrap have this:

--exclude=alpha,beta

Comma separated list of packages which will be removed from download and extract lists. WARNING: you can and probably will exclude essential packages, be careful using this option.

maybe exclude "no essential apps" for build a minidog32.iso , like tinycore.

https://manpages.debian.org/stretch/deb ... .8.en.html

this show me Essential and Priority Apps but I not have too much experience in linux so I dont want break the system.

#dpkg-query -Wf '${Package;-40}${Essential}\n' | grep yes
#dpkg-query -Wf '${Package;-40}${Priority}\n' | grep -E "required"

By the way your code work.:D

Code: Select all

apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r) aufs-dkms/code]
[code]update-initramfs -t -c -k $(uname -r)

Code: Select all

union=aufs
and later:

umount /lib/live/mount/overlay
mount -t tmpfs -o "remount,size=90%" tmpfs /lib/live/mount/overlay

Just Amazing Fred!!!!!!!

Thank you so much.

this way you can install deboostrap in ram /root/debian/chroot only take care about your ram, in my case i have only 512mb ram with this code i have 450mb.

apt-get install jwm
mksquashfs overlay -ef /root/list /lib/live/mount/medium/wheezy/live/01-jwm.squashfs

the flag -ef "exclude file list"

in my list:

.wh..wh.orph
.wh..wh.plnk
.wh..wh.aufs
media
tmp
mnt

see you Fred. :D

Posted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 09:14
by fredx181
Thanks Andres !!

Good that you can set the tmpfs size to 90% now
Btw, for info, porteus-boot style also has similar option, by just adding to the kernel boot command line e.g.:

Code: Select all

ramsize=90%
I had a look at what's installed by debootstrap when using --variant=minbase and I really think it's minimal enough.
Sooner or later most of these package will be installed anyway as dependencies from other packages.

Best Regards,

Fred

Virtual_memory

Posted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 09:37
by zagreb999
regards

where to add-porteus fresh boot-this
ramsize=90% ?

how to increase ram memory?



https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_memory

Posted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 10:01
by fredx181
Hi zagreb, just at the kernel boot line e.g.

Code: Select all

kernel /stretch/live/vmlinuz1 from=/stretch noauto ramsize=90%
If without ramsize=..., the default will be used, which is 60%

Fred

Posted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 16:45
by rcrsn51
See below.

ramsize

Posted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 18:57
by zagreb999
thanks fred

now i am in xenialdog 32 bit
installed with unetbootin
and i can not find where to add
ramsize

please see

default menu.c32
prompt 0
menu title UNetbootin
timeout 1



label ubnentry0
menu label XenialDog Porteus Always Fresh
kernel /casper/vmlinuz
append initrd=/casper/initrd1.xz from=/ nomagic base_only norootcopy

label ubnentry1
menu label XenialDog Porteus in RAM (no save)
kernel /casper/vmlinuz
append initrd=/casper/initrd1.xz noauto from=/ copy2ram

label ubnentry2
menu label XenialDog Porteus in RAM (save in changes=/changes.dat file)
kernel /casper/vmlinuz
append initrd=/casper/initrd1.xz noauto from=/ copy2ram changes=/changes.dat

label ubnentry3
menu label XenialDog casper-boot (no save)
kernel /casper/vmlinuz
append initrd=/casper/initrd.lz boot=casper ignore_uuid cdrom-detect/try-usb=true showmounts union=aufs

label ubnentry4
menu label XenialDog casper-boot in RAM (no save)
kernel /casper/vmlinuz
append initrd=/casper/initrd.lz boot=casper ignore_uuid cdrom-detect/try-usb=true showmounts union=aufs toram

label ubnentry5
menu label XenialDog casper-boot in RAM (save in casper-rw file or partition)
kernel /casper/vmlinuz
append initrd=/casper/initrd.lz boot=casper ignore_uuid cdrom-detect/try-usb=true showmounts union=aufs toram persistent

Posted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 20:38
by fredx181
rcrsn51 wrote:Here is a simple ISO/SFS file mounter of Stretch Live. Remove the fake .gz extension
Added to the Stretchdog 32 and 64 bit repositories, thanks!

@zagreb999

Like this for example:

Code: Select all

label ubnentry0
menu label XenialDog Porteus Always Fresh
kernel /casper/vmlinuz
append initrd=/casper/initrd1.xz from=/ nomagic base_only norootcopy ramsize=90%
What this does is: increase the amount of space in tmpfs directory (/mnt/live/memory/changes) where the changes are written to (in RAM)
Can be useful e.g. if you want to install a lot programs in one session specially if you have small RAM (like Andres: 512 MB) to not run out of space very quickly.
Running in RAM you are when using Always Fresh, or when using the EXIT: parameter. (porteus-boot)
Setting to 90% makes not much sense if you have lots of RAM, e.g. 4 GB.

Fred

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 02:20
by rcrsn51
Here is PeasyMount v1.1. It has a .desktop file, so it's easier to do the ISO/SFS file associations.

Remove the fake .gz extension.

peasymount

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 15:32
by anikin
Modified it a little bit: 1) added xzm (Porteus module extention) 2) replaced pcmanfm with rox and ran a quick test on Devuan Jessie. No issues so far. I noticed you don't put the Depends: line in the control file. Maybe it's worth adding at least <Depends: libc6> to make it shine and be more standards compliant? Just a thought. I love your apps.

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 16:54
by fredx181
Updated 2017-08-07 mklive-stretch

mklive-stretch script (right-click > Save link as)

See here for updates and fixes

And More Info Here

Not as barebones as it was and ISO size is even smaller :)

Fred

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 18:18
by rcrsn51
PeasyMount is a simple ISO/Squash file mounter.

Update: V1.4 can also mount Puppy .2fs|.3fs|.4fs savefiles and .img files made by tools like dd.

Remove the fake .gz extension.

--------------------------

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 19:07
by jd7654
fredx181 wrote:Updated 2017-08-07 mklive-stretch
Tried the script on DD64-Jessie and it completed, and produced bootable frugal files.
But a few new issues introduced:
- touchpad wasn't working, which did work in all previous Puppys and Dogs, and previous DevLive from original script. I plugged in a USB mouse and that worked.
- wifi not working, it did work with previous DebLive but don't remember if I had to fiddle with it or anything. Can't seem to connect WPA with rt2800pci.

Put the produced 157MB ISO on a E2B USB and tried on another laptop.
The touchpad worked, but it was in some strange "whole screen" tablet mode or something, never saw that before. Very hard to use with tiny touchpad mapping to entire 15" screen. Maybe that is a clue as to what changed that broke other laptop touchpad.

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 19:26
by rcrsn51
@jd7654:
I haven't tried the newest script yet. But in previous builds, some firmware like your rt2860.bin was hiding somewhere. Maybe inside the initrd.

I wonder if it has now disappeared.

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 19:28
by fredx181
Hi jd7654

The difference with previous script is that xserver-xorg-input-evdev is installed, had to do that to make adjusting mouse acceleration work (lxinput, menu entry Preferences > Keyboard and mouse)

If you like to experiment, try removing xserver-xorg-input-evdev package and install xserver-xorg-input-libinput (or any other xserver-xorg-input-*) package maybe ?

Thanks for testing, I expected such problems btw with such a minimal build.

EDIT:
rcrsn51 wrote:I haven't tried the newest script yet. But in previous builds, some firmware like your rt2860.bin was hiding somewhere. Maybe inside the initrd.
Didn't change anything for that AFAIK, @jd7654, could be that you need to install some firmware package to make wifi work
@rcrsn51, will add your latest peasymount to the dog repositories, thanks!


Fred

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 21:23
by rcrsn51
@Fred: I tried the new build script.

1. Some additional apps like pFind and pBurn are being installed, although they are not in the lists. How do I remove them?

2. Regarding firmware: There is no /lib/firmware folder but synaptic claims that a bunch of firmware has loaded. My r8169 PCI network card needs firmware and dmesg says that it was NOT loaded, but the card works anyway.

Bill

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 21:36
by belham2
rcrsn51 wrote:PeasyMount v1.2.

I added a NoDisplay line to the .desktop file. So once you have made your file associations, you can remove it from the menus.

rcrsn51---PeasyMount---Outfreakingstanding! 8)

Not being able to rapidly and easily mount ISOs and SESes from other dogs and pups that was driving me nutso when I'd do a new script build. This little thing whacked the ball outta the park, clearing center field easily :wink: Mucho Gracias!

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 21:38
by dancytron
dancytron wrote:Built another one. I attempted to add all the DD specific programs and test a few.

/snip

It seems when I use save2flash that it doesn't flush the memory like the newer version does. In other words, after I installed Chrome, it seemed like each time I used save2flash it was saving that whole huge amount rather than just what I'd added since the last time I used save2flash. Or I might just be imagining it?

/snip
I just built one with the new script. This issue appears to be fixed.

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 21:41
by belham2
fredx181 wrote:Updated 2017-08-07 mklive-stretch

mklive-stretch script (right-click > Save link as)

See here for updates and fixes

And More Info Here

Not as barebones as it was and ISO size is even smaller :)

Fred

Fred,

Hmmmm, the new script....I don't know.....what happened to the beautiful NAKED build lady I was getting before this script changed everything?? Now, there's other stuff getting stuck in the build, and thus the beautiful lady is not so naked anymore :cry:

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 22:46
by jd7654
fredx181 wrote:Hi jd7654

The difference with previous script is that xserver-xorg-input-evdev is installed, had to do that to make adjusting mouse acceleration work (lxinput, menu entry Preferences > Keyboard and mouse)

If you like to experiment, try removing xserver-xorg-input-evdev package and install xserver-xorg-input-libinput (or any other xserver-xorg-input-*) package maybe ?

Thanks for testing, I expected such problems btw with such a minimal build.

EDIT:

Didn't change anything for that AFAIK, @jd7654, could be that you need to install some firmware package to make wifi work

That was my bad on the Wifi. I was moving around testing and the PC where Wifi worked on original script was ath9k chip. Adding /lib/firmware did make it work for this rt2870.

As for the touchpad, I see that both evdev and libinput input drivers are in StretchDog, so I take it that the functionality will return once build is more complete?

Just curious: what would you say is the percentage of how close this script is to being the Dog equivalent of what WoofCE is to Puppy? In terms of being able to make a complete Debian Dog with all the bells and whistles. Roughly.

Thanks

Posted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 23:06
by rcrsn51
jd7654 wrote:EDIT:Didn't change anything for that AFAIK, @jd7654, could be that you need to install some firmware package to make wifi work
Confirmed. Apparently my internal r8169 adapter works without its firmware. When I added "realtek-firmware" to the build list, the new ISO had a /lib/firmware folder and the dmesg errors were gone.

Now I'm curious. If this build system is NOT including firmware, then how are people getting their PCI network cards to work?