How to fill in WEP Encryption Template in Profiles? (SOLVED)

Booting, installing, newbie
lawquest

How to fill in WEP Encryption Template in Profiles? (SOLVED)

#1 Post by lawquest »

Hi folks,

Could someone post a copy of a template that works with WEP? Or with some explanation of the various fields in the Template?

I might be able to figure it out if I saw how someone else did it?

Hate to keep bothering the forum. It may be some justification that I am a adult advisor of a Lions Club youth group. We have 10 of the kids now a) with computers, b) with wireless cards and c) with Puppy (most are using 2.10).. If all goes as planned, we should have hundreds of kids up and running Puppy in the Reno area within the next few months. I received my first email from one of them last night! I am not a techie in any sense, but have used SuSE (only) for several years. Still, I need some help occasionally with Puppy. Kids are having lots of problems as you might expect, with one big plus.....none of them have had computers at home before....so I don't hear how they did it in Windows. Far as they know and I believe, Puppy will give them all they could possilby need to do their schoolwork and have lots of fun.

John
Last edited by lawquest on Mon 09 Oct 2006, 20:58, edited 1 time in total.

lawquest

#2 Post by lawquest »

Come on, Guys,

Could I please get a response? I get on the internet fine, when the network is not encrypted. But if WEP is turned on, I am not able to get online. Whatever clues you might have, even it no formal template, would be most appreciated.

I would venture to guess that almost all wireless networks are encrypted. I have viewed the newbies' video, but that doesn't solve my problem.

John

Pizzasgood

#3 Post by Pizzasgood »

I set up my old network before there was a fancy gui thing, so I don't know how they work.