How to install driver for infinity USB card reader?

Using applications, configuring, problems
chrism

How to install driver for infinity USB card reader?

#1 Post by chrism »

Hello to everybody
I am totally new to linux and i need your help.
I have installed the puppy 4.00 on hd (full installation) and now i am trying to follow some instructions to install a driver for the infinity usb unlimited card reader.
The instructions are these

1. Prepare your kernel 2.6.18 an up
2. Compile it with usbserial enabled
3. install it as usual
4. cd into V2.6 directory
5. type 'make all'

The V2.6 directory is where the files of the driver are.

I have downloaded and install the devx_400.sfs as in this topic http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22701
and added the usbserial to the BootManager under Load kernel modules.
I reboot the pc and under the directory V2.6 i typed the command "make all".
The message i am getting is this
# make all
rm -fr *.o *.ko *.cmd .*.cmd Module.symvers .tmp* *.mod.c
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/build/ SUBDIRS=/root/my-documents/iuu/iux-0.9/V2.6 modules -I/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/build/drivers/usb/serial/
make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/build/: No such file or directory. Stop
make: *** [default] Error 2

Can somebody tell me what i have done wrong and how to fix it?

Jesse

#2 Post by Jesse »

Hello,

The linux driver for usb chip readers is called 'usb-storage'. You shouldn't have to build it for any puppy distro as its there by default, unless perhaps you have to patch it in some way?
To manually install the driver, open up an rxvt terminal window, and type in 'modprobe usb-storage', and to see what is loaded, type in 'lsmod'.

Regards
Jesse

chrism

#3 Post by chrism »

Jesse wrote:Hello,

The linux driver for usb chip readers is called 'usb-storage'. You shouldn't have to build it for any puppy distro as its there by default, unless perhaps you have to patch it in some way?