How To Install WBAR on Puppy 4.2?

Booting, installing, newbie
wah fun

How To Install WBAR on Puppy 4.2?

#1 Post by wah fun »

I am new to Puppy and have just installed 4.2 by ttuuxxx. It works great and now I want to play around a little with it to get better acquainted. I have and played around a bit and rtfm and not much info there so I am asking for some help.

I would like to remove the default task bar and ptray applet as well as all the desktop icons and just have wbar showing on the desktop. I have played around with removing the desktop icons and editing ptray only to really mess it up. I have looked at Puppy derivatives but can't find one that is what I want. So, can someone tell me how to do the above?

Thx

Jami

#2 Post by Jami »

Google puppy linux and wbar to pull up the forum thread on wbar - there are some good tips there, plus the 2 pet files you will need to install wbar correctly. There is also a script to copy the desktop files in wbar (but you can do this manually by editing .wbar in root).

Once installed, you need to copy and paste a line of text from the web page (which opens during pet installation) into a file called .xinitrc - this is a hidden file in root, so you will need to left click the eye in ROX to be able to see it. If you restart X you will get a wbar at the bottom of the screen (unless you changed the options in the line you just copied) plus an annoying box in the taskbar.

To remove that annoying box...don't do anything with .jwmrc-tray (you will get the impression you should from the forum thread, but it will just lead to frustration). What I did was to edit .jwmrc and add:
<Group>
<Class>wbar</Class>
<Name>wbar</Name>
<Option>nolist</Option>
</Group>