How to install Puppy on Toshiba 3110ct?

Booting, installing, newbie
Hawkeye

How to install Puppy on Toshiba 3110ct?

#1 Post by Hawkeye »

Hello everyone, I'm new to Linux and I have an old Tosh 3110CT that I'd like to put Puppy onto. It has no CD drive and only USB, not USB2.
The problem I have is that I was given the tosh for nothing but it has no windows user password so I can't log onto windows. Can I create a bootable floppy or usb that will allow me to put Puppy on it?

And help would be great.

Thanks in advance. :)
Hawkeye

#2 Post by Hawkeye »

Thought it might help if you had a bit more info about the tosh.

http://www0.dealtime.co.uk/xPF-Toshiba- ... -P311UK-XT

Hope this helps.

Hawkeye :)
mikeb

#3 Post by mikeb »

My method here
may be helpful/adaptable for your situation as you can boot windows but simply not log on.
Booting from a usb flash installation may not work and would be slow if it did in your case.
By the way there are useful programs out there (google) for getting around lost windows passwords (run from floppy) or perhaps delete the profile once you have puppy working...

mike

ps I am assuming something like XP or 2000 on there. If it's 98 than the boot situation is different but grub4dos has dos tools to deal with it.
Hawkeye

#4 Post by Hawkeye »

Hiya,
It was '98 on it. Is that a problem?

Thanks for the link and the info. :)
mikeb

#5 Post by mikeb »

It was '98 on it. Is that a problem?
not particularily but a different approach would be needed.
Either way a dos boot floppy such as windows 98 has will be needed as you have no running operating system. (by the way deleting the password file for the user in c:/windows is all you need to do if I recall...you certain its not the laptop password?)

Actually my brain is not in.....access to usb drives from dos is the real problem here...or via network. to get the necessary files transferred to the hard drive. Free dos might be more helpful.