Page 1 of 2

Nicoedit 2.3 - text editor with lots of goodies

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 03:07
by technosaurus
Nicodedit text editor with lots of code highlighting - now with history and word wrap.

Also latest stable gtksourceview for Puppy's that are missing it.

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:47
by Lobster
Many thanks :)

Getting a Puppy Package Manager dialog box saying:

Code: Select all

Error, package nicoedit.pet failed to install
How are others doing?
Barry just announced the latest Nicoedit will be in 4.3
Moe: This deep fryer can flash fry a buffalo in 30 seconds.
Homer: Oh, but I want it now!

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:55
by ttuuxxx
lobster try this one :)
it needed repacking
ttuuxxx

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:58
by ttuuxxx
still doesn't have tabs when you drop a file on the gui, well soon I hope it might :) then I'll be able to replace Geany with it, but without tabs I just can't justify the removal of Geany.
ttuuxxx

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 06:08
by Lobster
thanks ttuuxxx
works

buffalo - [drool]

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 06:15
by Lobster
Is the fullscreen button still in beta?
- the program just closed when I clicked on it
# nicoedit

(nicoedit:14431): GtkSourceView-CRITICAL **: gtk_source_language_manager_get_language: assertion `id != NULL' failed
Segmentation fault
#

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 06:40
by ttuuxxx
Lobster wrote:Is the fullscreen button still in beta?
- the program just closed when I clicked on it
# nicoedit

(nicoedit:14431): GtkSourceView-CRITICAL **: gtk_source_language_manager_get_language: assertion `id != NULL' failed
Segmentation fault
#
crashed for me to, so I reported at Barry's Blog.
ttuuxxx

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 08:54
by nikobordx
Hi,

I have no problem with fullscreen.

Can you go to NicoEdit source directory, open the file wscript_build and replace the line 11 by this:

Code: Select all

ccflags = ['-g', '-include', 'config.h'],
Save, rebuild (./waf configure && ./waf build) and install (./waf install).
Then, in a terminal, type:

Code: Select all

gdb nicoedit
When you enter on the debugger, type:

Code: Select all

run
Try to use the fullscreen, and post the debugger message here.
Thank you,
Nicolas.

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 10:00
by Lobster

Code: Select all

(gdb) run
Starting program: /usr/bin/nicoedit 

(nicoedit:22615): GtkSourceView-CRITICAL **: gtk_source_language_manager_get_language: assertion `id != NULL' failed

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0xb7e3cf88 in gtk_widget_hide () from /usr/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0
(gdb)
hope that is useful :)

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 12:09
by nikobordx
For NicoEdit, see newer post !

Nicolas.

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 12:29
by Lobster
it work ! 8)

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 12:37
by nikobordx
Cool !

Thanks for testing it !

What features do you want in a new version of NicoEdit ?

Nicolas.

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 12:57
by Lobster
Maybe smaller button icons (so more can be displayed)
indent and outdent buttons
change case
8)

this may be of interest
http://www.texteditors.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 13:41
by ttuuxxx
nikobordx wrote:Cool !

Thanks for testing it !

What features do you want in a new version of NicoEdit ?

Nicolas.
Pleassssseeeeeeeeeee Tabs with close buttons like Geany :)
That would be great :)
The only other feature I sometimes use is two panes to compare code side by side.
But tabs by far would be the single best feature :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:
ttuuxxx

Posted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 14:18
by technosaurus
I didn't notice that Barry's script in the nicoedit source used mv instead of tgz2pet to convert the tarball to a pet - therefore it was missing the md5. Thanks for repacking it ttuuxxx.

History and keyboard shortcut

Posted: Sat 19 Sep 2009, 14:29
by ljfr
Hello,

few remarks:
-some files are created directly in the root folder .nicoedit.files, .NicoEdit.rc
-when opening a document, the Open file browser starts from the root directory, could it start from the folder of the latest opened document.
- when a new document is created, it does not appear in the history menu (not convenient).
-Could we have a keyboard shortcut to get directly to this history menu
(Alt+H ?).
-One nice feature of Geany that Nicoedit lacks is the notification when the active document has been modified from outside the editor (with the option to reload the new version or not).



regards,

Posted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 11:56
by nikobordx
Hi,

I made a new version of NicoEdit (2.4)

News:
When opening a document, the file browser start from the last used directory.
When a new document is created, it appear in the history menu.
When you press F5, a dialog is opened with history menu.
When document is modified with another texteditor, NicoEdit detect the modification and propose to reload the file.
Some bugs fix.

Nicolas.

Posted: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 12:34
by ttuuxxx
I compiled Nicoedit 2.4 on puppy 4.30
NicoEdit-2.4|NicoEdit|2.4||Document|148K|pet_packages-4|NicoEdit-2.4.pet||Simple text editor|puppy|4|official|

... more feedback

Posted: Mon 21 Sep 2009, 10:29
by ljfr
Hi Nicolas,

Few remarks:
-For find and find/replace:could you use current selection as default input
-For a new line could you use the indentation of the previous line by default.
-Undo/Redo buttons do not work.
-When launched from console, I got this message:

Code: Select all

(nicoedit:26883): GtkSourceView-CRITICAL **: 
gtk_source_language_manager_get_language: assertion `id != NULL failed `
but it still runs fine, by the way ,could you print an usage details when used incorrectly.

+one extra question: How I could put the window at the top of the screen when the program starts
(currently it starts at ~30px from the top on my screen), or maximize it automatically.

Posted: Mon 26 Oct 2009, 08:38
by BarryK
Nicolas,
I running Puppy 4.3.1 and using NicoEdit 2.4.

I'm getting back into learning Genie programming, and I'm updating my Genie intro web pages as I go along.

There is a thought that occurred to me. I'm pasting example code into the web pages, but it would be really nice if I could copy and paste the code with html color syntax markup.

That would be a lovely feature for NicoEdit. In the "Edit" menu have "Copy with HTML markup" or "Copy with color markup".

Or there could be a save item to save with HTML markup.