Can't shut down computer [SOLVED]

Booting, installing, newbie
otdrne

Can't shut down computer [SOLVED]

#1 Post by otdrne »

Hi all. I'm fairly new to Linux, used xubuntu for a month and now I just installed puppy on my old computer and by the first look I love it, but I have a couple of problems.

First I can't shut down my computer. When I try to I get just a black screen saying:
mounted directly, session already saved.
The system is going down now
Sent SIGTERM to all processes
Sent SIGKILL to all processes
Requesting system poweroff
System halted

That's all and it stays on and I can't even shut it by pressing the button, I have to interrupt the power

Second problem is less important, when using Skype other people can't hear me, I have to keep the microphone really close to my lips and speak out loud.
Last edited by otdrne on Sat 07 Nov 2009, 18:56, edited 1 time in total.

DM was on fire!

#2 Post by DM was on fire! »

Although I can't help you with the main topic at hand, I can help with the latter.

Go into AlsaMixer and turn the microphone volume up all the way, and turn the boost on (by pressing the M button) if needed. :

Wheres One

#3 Post by Wheres One »

I've encountered this problem before; the ACPI on Dell machines is supposed to be weird, or so I've heard, which leads to your problem. In order to correct it, go to /mnt/home/boot/grub if you're in a frugal install or /boot/grub if you're in a full install. From there, open the configuration file "menu.lst" and make the following additions, which will be in red:
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Puppy Linux 430 frugal
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /puppy430/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=puppy430 nosmp acpi=force
initrd /puppy430/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends