whats the fsckme.flg and what does it do?

Booting, installing, newbie
N3ON.SAMURAI

whats the fsckme.flg and what does it do?

#1 Post by N3ON.SAMURAI »

Hi all,

This is probably a really easy question, so easy that no one else seems to have asked it.

I have done a full install onto a hdd /dev/sda and while browsing the hdd i noticed in / a file appeared. not sure how long it had been there, or when it got there, infact i think on the refresh of the directory it showed itself. Anyway what is the fsckme.flg there for?

As far as im aware, the machine has been performing very well, without any improper shutdowns or errors.

Im new to puppy. Have been a long time ubuntu user, and once i heard it was compatible with lucid repos, and was small, fast and versatile i was interested. so interested i spent all weekend installing and playing around. i have now remastered my own puppy with the java build from sun, latest libreoffice and a few other apps that i use at work... and it was so eaasy, brilliant job and congrats to all the people who had a hand in making the puppy distribution. (sorry, still gushing over this new found os).

Karl Godt

#2 Post by Karl Godt »

try

Code: Select all

grep -n -i fsckme /etc/rc.d/*
for further information

duke93535

fsckme.flg file

#3 Post by duke93535 »

Why the fsckme.flg file. My simple answer.

It is a flagging system to start a file system check if it is found during the startup boot. It is removed in the shutdown, if the shutdown is correct. This way you don’t go thru a file system check of your save file if it is not needed on booting.

duke

N3ON.SAMURAI

#4 Post by N3ON.SAMURAI »

Thanks for the replys,

My system always shuts down and starts up correctly without issue (as far as im aware)

The grep command gave me a few lines telling me that it changed ree to flg and beyond that i havent had enough coffee to work out what else it does.

The file itself just contains root,ext3 though i have an ext4 system

BarryK