Puppy in Toshiba Satellite with 64 MB of RAM (Solved)

Booting, installing, newbie
vickyg2003

Puppy in Toshiba Satellite with 64 MB of RAM (Solved)

#1 Post by vickyg2003 »

Hello, I'm a newbie at this and in totally over my head.

I read an article about Puppy Linux reviving an old computer. I've got two old Laptop's sitting in my closet. I'd really like an internet appliance and Puppy Linux sounds like it might be the answer for me.

Toshiba Satellite
64MB RAM upgradable to 192MB max
9.35 GB HardDrive
CD Reader
Floppy Drive
2 USB ports
ps2 Mouse
PCMCIA Slot

Windows ME
Office 2000

I downloaded the latest puppy, and then struggled with what to do with an ISO file. I found a lot of bad information on how to use this with my burning software (Nero 5). I downloaded a couple of "free" burning software programs that other "How To" articles recommended to burn ISO images that didn't work either. Persistance paid off and I finally found a procedure that worked with Nero. I now have 10 coasters and 1 bootable CD.

I powered up the Toshiba with 64MB from the CD and it powered up and then froze. I figured this was from the lack of memory, I turned the machine off and restarted the application and issued a puppy pfix=nocopy thinking that it was the copying into memory that was my issue.

I was able to boot up and move the mouse around.

I am still unclear about what puppy linux is capable of doing with this machine. I don't want to invest in memory and a PCMCIA wifi card and new battery if this machine will not allow me to have a fully functional portable wifi browser.

If I upgrade the memory to 192MB will this be enough to be able to read the web, watch tutorial videos, read pdf files and doc files?

starhawk

#2 Post by starhawk »

Welcome, as we say, to the Kennels!

I burn my CDs using Imgburn. It's free and awesome.