How do I install newer AMD drivers on puppy precise 5.7.1?

Booting, installing, newbie
thehulkk

How do I install newer AMD drivers on puppy precise 5.7.1?

#1 Post by thehulkk »

A little background. I'm not that new with linux, I know some commands that I've learned from walkthroughs, but I'm not a linux expert. I even have some background in programming.

My goal here is to use puppy precise 5.7.1 to run a scrypt miner build for crypto currencies. I could go with linux mint or ubuntu, and make everything easier for me, but that's not how I work. But If I can't make it work, they I'll go the other direction. This is more of a learning experience for me.

The reason I like puppy linux is how fast it boots up, and the low memory usage. I've been using it for a couple of weeks and I really like it. So back to my question. I know there are a lot of walkthroughs on how to install amd drivers with ubuntu. I couldn't find any on puppy precise. I know there are some limitation on the latest drivers that doesn't support the older kernels and xorg for linux.

The graphics card that i'll be installing is the xfx r9 270x. I would have to install the AMD Catalyst 13.11 beta and the amd app sdk 2.9. Do you think this is doable or I should just use another OS?

ardvark

Re: How do I install newer AMD drivers on puppy precise 5.7.1?

#2 Post by ardvark »

thehulkk wrote:The graphics card that i'll be installing is the xfx r9 270x. I would have to install the AMD Catalyst 13.11 beta and the amd app sdk 2.9. Do you think this is doable or I should just use another OS?
Hi...

While I have no idea concerning the application, the driver itself should be doable, to use your expression :wink: , you just need to make sure you have a kernel version that falls within AMD's specifications, as well other requirements. See the driver's information sheet here.