Video mpg4 too big

Booting, installing, newbie
semar

Video mpg4 too big

#1 Post by semar »

All,
I'm new in this forum and I'm quite new to PuppyLinux and Linux as well.

I'm running a Lucid Puppy from a CD.

Everything works so far, I can also watch .MPG4 video without problem, unless the video file is big, in this case the video starts to stutter, and the audio is no more in sync.

I think that the problem is with the PC, which has only 2Gb Ram. In fact, smaller .MPG4 files are reproduced without issues. That said, a workaround could be splitting a big video file in more smaller files. In this way I could watch a (big) video file when splitted in more smaller ones.

The question: is there any video editing software for Lucid Puppy I can use, in order to cut a video file into more chunks ?

If yes:
- where do I find it (link please)
- how should I install it (step by step description please)

Thanks in advance for your help,
Sergio.
Doglover

#2 Post by Doglover »

avidemux will do the job.
Latitude

#3 Post by Latitude »

Hi Semar,
2 GB of RAM is plenty for Puppy. Before you go splitting video files, you might find that the video plays better if you copy these files from the CD to the Hard Drive and then reboot from the CD:
vmlinuz
initrd.gz
lupu_XXXX.sfs
If it's not Backed-Up, then it isn't really yours.
You just think it is.
Flash
Official Dog Handler

#4 Post by Flash »

Also, semar, How big is this mpg4 file? Do you have any swap memory (swap partition or swap file) and are you playing the file as it downloads, or downloading it then playing it? If you're downloading it first, where are you downloading it to? (Somewhere on a hard disk drive? Somewhere in RAM, for instance /tmp?)
p310don

#5 Post by p310don »

Of most importance is not the size of the file that you're trying to play, but the resolution and bit rate of the video.