Connect Xenial pup at the Library and McDonalds?

Booting, installing, newbie
Chirpz

#1 Post by Chirpz »

I'm new to Xenial Puppy. I'm running full install on an Acer Travelmate 2300 with Pentium M processor, 2 gigs of Ram, 100 gig HD. Wifi Card is Intel WM3B2100 that I robbed from an old Toshiba.

At home, I can connect to wifi no problem. If I go to McDonalds, I cannot connect. The network shows in Frisbee, but will not connect. Oddly, it DOES connect easily to the Bank that is 75 yards away. Also, if I go to the Library, I cannot connect. Again, their wifi shows in Frisbee and does not require a password...but it will not connect.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Flash
Official Dog Handler

#2 Post by Flash »

Are you sure your library does not require a password to use their wifi? Mine does. Have you asked at your library? They're usually very willing to help, if not very knowledgeable. How about McDonald's, have you asked there?

oldaolgeezer

Connect Xenial pup at the Library and McDonalds

#3 Post by oldaolgeezer »

Hi Chirpz

If you have been experiencing the same issue I had, I have a possible solution for you.

I found that at McDonalds and most hotels, after you have chosen their free WIFI and gotten an IP address,
you still have to "connect" to that company's "validating" or "hello" website.

Once you have clicked on "get connected" or "I accept" on their "validating" or "hello" website,
you can switch back to your original browser tab reload it and it will work (then I usually close the tab for the "validating" or "hello" website.)

(HTTPS websites, like google.com and many others, are secure protocol sites and cannot be redirected to the McDonalds or most hotel login page(s).)

Thus, if your browser's home page is an HTTPS page, you will need to type in a non-HTTPS page in order to be redirected to their web page.