Installed Puppy does not remember setup, can't play DVDs

Booting, installing, newbie
drrdf

Installed Puppy does not remember setup, can't play DVDs

#1 Post by drrdf »

I am new to Puppy, but have been using other Linux distros for some while. I have installed Puppy Linux on an old PC using the installer, but it seems to have just replicated the live Puppy situation from the CD. Every time I start up from the HD it goes through the same process of selecting the type of mouse, and X server etc. I have tried re-installing but it is still the same and seems to take for ever to boot up just as with the live CD.

Can anyone please give me guidance as to what to do to get it installed properly? Also I cannot play avi s or DVDs with Xine. They start and the images move in slow motion and after about 30 secs or so they all bomb out closing Xine. This may be because I have not been able to install the graphics card properly? By the way, all the changes to the desktop which I have made are implemented at each boot up.

The PC hardware is: AMD K6/2/500Mhx; 256 Mb RAM, 30 Gb hard drive dedicated to Puppy with swap file; Nvidia 32 Mb G Force2 MX graphics card.

Oakems

#2 Post by Oakems »

What it sounds like to me, is that you've installed a frugal setup and then chose to save to your hard drive. I haven't ever done this before so I don't really know what to expect, but I think that's why you need to go through the whole setup process at each boot.